At St Brendan-Shaw College Library, we have several databases that you can use while you are on campus or at home. These databases have scholarly articles, books, videos, and other information to help you. We've also added some databases that you can access for free. You can look through the alphabetical list below or use the filters to recommend a database for your subject area, the type of information you need, and whether you're a teacher or student. Each database is marked with icons showing its special features.
If you need help searching through these databases, feel free to reach out to the Library.
The most frequently-used databases
Available only on the college network. *Access expires in DECEMBER 2025 and is provided by Catholic Education Tasmania.
A+ Education - Covers everything about education in Australia. The content includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, reports, discussion papers, and book chapters.
AGIS Plus Text - Features journal articles for lawyers, educators, businesspeople, law librarians, students and paralegals, connecting them to specialised information for analysis, awareness and advancement of legal knowledge.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) - Explore diverse perspectives on Australia's political, economic and social affairs.
Business Collection - Comprehensive coverage of commerce, economic, international relations, finance, management, taxation and training.
Engineering Collection - This collection contains journals, conference papers and reports covering a diverse range of engineering topics.
Familes & Society Collection - Contains evidence-based information and resources spanning child development, parenting and family dynamics.
Health Collection - Supporting the professional practice of evidence-based treatment, this collection features comprehensive coverage of key disciplines across all aspects relevant to nursing, general, specialist and allied health.
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection - Features unique and specialised content sourced from Australian and international publishers. Expand your knowledge as you access the latest academic, authoritative and most trustworthy information specific to your search.
Indigenous Collection - Provides a range of content on both historical and current issues in Indigenous studies. Includes material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America, and the Pacific.
Literature & Culture Collection - Featuring renowned creative sources, this collection establishes a richer understanding of Australia's diverse cultural life and identities, through modern and historic lenses. Archived historic collection also available individually.
This is a large online library with reliable websites from educational, government, and commercial sources. It includes primary sources, transcripts, videos, interactive websites, newspaper and magazine articles, maps, images, and statistics. Topics are organized in a way that is easy for most students to understand.
Access courtesy of Catholic Education Tasmania.
Theology & Religion Online has lots of resources for students and scholars of Theology, Biblical Studies, Religious Studies and related subjects. It has full-text ebooks, videos, multimedia, and teaching materials. This online resource will help you with research, study, and teaching, whether you're just starting out or you're at an advanced level.
