Skip to Main Content

SBSC Library: Home

Search our Catalogue

Search Catalogue.

The College Library Catalogue enables staff and students to search the Library Collection. Our collection includes books, magazines and online resources.  To access, click on the Search Catalogue icon above.

From the State Library of Victoria: The main difference between searching the web and a library is that the web has lots of unsourced and misleading information.  Whilst the library has a smaller collection, these are from trusted sources.

Trial database - Informit Explore

St Brendan-Shaw College are currently trialling a new database - Informit Explore.

Please contact the library for the password.

Databases & Online Services

A-Z Databases.

Issues in Society

Issues in Society.

A great series of books containing Australian news and views on contemporary social issues.  Each title contains quality content which has been edited and compiled from a variety of trusted primary resources.

Search our catalogue under Issues in Society for our collection of print copies.

Exams and Study

New Resources

Children's Book Council of Australia's (CBCA) 2024 Notables List

decorative banner

Visit the library and borrow the books highlighted in the

CBCA 2024 Notables list!

Games, Games and Games

The library has a large range of card, board games, and jigsaw puzzles that students can use. These include: UNO, Chess and Scrabble

Great lunch-time activity on a wet day.

Monopoly Deal card game pack. The Chess Player's Bible.

Book of the Week - Guinness World Records 2024

Magazine of the Week - NEW SCIENTIST

Visit our library catalogue to view details of our print magazine and periodical holdings.

ClickView

Clickview

ClickView is the leading video content resource for schools. This includes interactive videos.   

For teachers - see your library staff if you would like content added to ClickView. 

To access - click on the ClickView icon above.

New look ClickView platform

 

ClickView Help - find tutorials, resources and support.

Please contact library staff with requests for programs, login information or further assistance.

Request for Purchase form

Request for Purchase form

St Brendan-Shaw College Library provides staff and students with the opportunity to contribute to the enhancement of our library collections.  We encourage you to suggest new resources and books that will enrich the learning experience, or support the recreational needs of our college community.

We strive to curate a contemporary, diverse and engaging collection that includes materials to inspire learning, foster creativity and promote critical thinking skills.  We actively promote a culture of reading for pleasure.  Research suggests that reading for enjoyment opens doors to academic success.

About the Library

9.00 - 4.00 Monday to Friday

(e)  library@sbsc.tas.edu.au

(p)  03 64157805

Mrs Kylie Reid  (Library Manager)

Mrs Pam Broomhall (Library Technician)

Mr Brad Wilkins (Library Technician)

Mr James Saltmarsh  (Library Assistant)

As a learning resource centre, our mission is to support the educational program of the College through the provision of staff, resources and services.